top of page
  • UK & Ireland PRME Regional Chapter

Announcement of winners: PRME Writing Competition 2019-20

To all Members and Supporters of the PRME Chapter UK and Ireland

Announcement of Winners: PRME Writing Competition 2019-20

30 April 2020

At a time of global disruption, uncertainty and suffering the PRME Chapter UK and Ireland nonetheless draws hope from being able to announce the winners of its fourth annual Responsible Business and Management Writing Competition.

Dr Alec Wersun, Chapter Chair, has called on all in the Chapter to “celebrate the variety and quality of the entries exploring the significance of the Sustainable Development Goals, the urgent nature of which could not be clearer in these pandemic times”.

On behalf of the organisers, Chris Blackburn, Pro Vice-Chancellor and Dean of the Oxford Brookes Business School, has highlighted the “creativity, research skills and insights that were evident not only in the work of prize winners but also in that of other finalists and entrants across the board”. He also expressed “our heartfelt appreciation to staff and students who encouraged the 82 entries from 19 institutions” and noted that “while, sadly, not everyone can be a prize winner the fact that so many business schools took part means that our planet might yet prove to be a winner in our current race against time”.

For full details, the entire list of winners and other finalists, and information about the judging panels, please see the news release which can be found here:

The winners in the three entry categories are:

Undergraduate Category

First Prize (£500): Autumn Irving-Carr, University of Northumbria

Second Prize (£300): Ellie Ray, University of Hertfordshire

Third Prize (£100): Emily Herbert, University of Newcastle

Postgraduate Category

First Prize (£500): Kathleen Pineau, Glasgow Caledonian University

Second Prize (£300): Esme Piechoczek, University of Sussex

Third Prize (£100): Andrea Patane, University of Sussex

Alternative Media Category

First Prize (£500): Claire Kilpatrick, Queen's University Belfast.

Second Prize (£300): Bernard Cunningham, Queen’s University Belfast

Third Prize (£100): Dearbhaile McCann, Queen’s University Belfast

Congratulations to all our prize winners and finalists.

Any enquiries about the results or news release can be directed to Dr Jonathan Louw at

187 views0 comments


bottom of page