top of page
2019-20 PRME Writing Competition Winners Announcement

30 April 2020


At a time of global disruption, uncertainty and suffering the PRME Chapter UK and Ireland nonetheless draws hope from being able to announce the winners of its fourth annual Responsible Business and Management Writing Competition.


Dr Alec Wersun, Chapter Chair, has called on all in the Chapter to “celebrate the variety and quality of the entries exploring the significance of the Sustainable Development Goals, the urgent nature of which could not be clearer in these pandemic times”.


On behalf of the organisers, Chris Blackburn, Pro Vice-Chancellor and Dean of the Oxford Brookes Business School, has highlighted the “creativity, research skills and insights that were evident not only in the work of prize winners but also in that of other finalists and entrants across the board”. He also expressed “our heartfelt appreciation to staff and students who encouraged the 82 entries from 19 institutions” and noted that “while, sadly, not everyone can be a prize winner the fact that so many business schools took part means that our planet might yet prove to be a winner in our current race against time”.


For full details, the entire list of winners and other finalists, and information about the judging panels, please see the news release which can be found here:


The winners in the three entry categories are:


Undergraduate Category

First Prize (£500): Autumn Irving-Carr, University of Northumbria

Download Autumn's work here

Second Prize (£300): Ellie Ray, University of Hertfordshire

Download Ellie's work here

Third Prize (£100): Emily Herbert, University of Newcastle

Download Emily's work here

Other Undergraduate Finalists (in alphabetical order)

Hollie Amess  (University of Hertfordshire)

Hannah Cheese (Oxford Brookes University) - download work here

Harry Graham (Oxford Brookes University)

Amelia Gratton (University of Newcastle) - download work here

Marnie Ethell (University of Newcastle) - download work here

Marlene Reschberger (University of the Arts London) - download work here

Camilla Rydzek (University of the Arts London) - download work here


Postgraduate Category

First Prize (£500): Kathleen Pineau, Glasgow Caledonian University

Download Kathleen's work here

Second Prize (£300): Esme Piechoczek, University of Sussex

Download Esme's work here

Third Prize (£100): Andrea Patane, University of Sussex

Download Andrea's work here

Other Postgraduate Finalists (in alphabetical order)

David Burt (Glasgow Caledonian University)

Sherilyn Yorke (University of Bath) - download work here


Alternative Media Category

First Prize (£500): Claire Kilpatrick, Queen's University Belfast.

Access Claire's work here

Second Prize (£300): Bernard Cunningham, Queen’s University Belfast

Download Bernard's work here

Third Prize (£100): Dearbhaile McCann, Queen’s University Belfast

Access Dearbhaile's work here

Other Alternative Media Finalists (in alphabetical order)

Chloe Scott (University of Hertfordshire) - access work here

and a joint entry from

John Walsh, Carleigh Farquhar, Laura Garcia Reinoso and Dana van der Huul (University College Dublin)


Congratulations to all our prize winners and finalists.

Any enquiries about the results or news release can be directed to Dr Jonathan Louw at

bottom of page